Catching up on New Year’s resolutions: being busy and stressed means I forgot about them for a few weeks…

Stressed? How do you deal with it?

Stress? How do you deal with it?

Busy, stressed, how do you manage to focus on time management and meal planning?

I wrote this in May but got distracted doing other things and forgot to post it. This illustrates well what is written in this post. I also feel like I have abandoned the blog in the past couple of months. I’m back now though. I will try to cook some fun and tasty recipes and post them throughout the summer. For now, here’s what I wrote a month ago:

As much as I want my health to be a priority, and as much as I would like to have a great beach body this summer, I feel that I need to have more time and be a bit more relaxed to be able to focus on a healthy living.

Work, exams, and side projects seem to have taken over my life in April and May and old habits have come back. Because old habits, no matter how unhealthy they are, do not require any thinking or planning, when busy and tired, they inevitably come back.

However I have learned what makes me feel worse and what makes me feel better food-wise so I am not going back to a totally unhealthy lifestyle. But bread and butter (my favourite of all times, I mean, country style bread with butter and salt crystals) is an easy combination when I’m tired.

I am dreaming of a life where I take time to do an hour of gym in the morning, eat a healthy breakfast, then get on with my day. But I must say when I’ve got too much going on, I can’t find the time or energy to organise it. I feel stressed and just want to get my jobs done and over with so that I can move on to the next task.

I am hoping the summer months will be quieter and that I will manage to get back into the healthy lifestyle that I’m dreaming of at the moment.

But for now, I need to get jobs done and there is only so much I can focus on at once. One thing I try to remember is that no one is perfect, no need to beat myself up about not managing to follow my resolutions these last couple of months. It’s not about perfection, it’s about keeping the good health in mind and if it has to be on hold at the moment, it doesn’t mean I failed. It means I am human, dealing with things as best as I can, and I haven’t forgotten about my resolutions. I always said it was a life change, not a short term thing. I’m still working on it, life changes don’t happen over night. Maybe in the future I will find a way to combine busy life, stress and healthy eating. I’m still learning.

4 thoughts on “Catching up on New Year’s resolutions: being busy and stressed means I forgot about them for a few weeks…

  1. EyeCandyPopper

    Don’t worry, it happens to the best of us. I think the secret is not to dwell on it but keep a positive mindset and keep moving forward. Don’t wait for the perfect time to become healthy, there will never be a perfect time. One step at a time, be proud of each good decision you make and forget the bad ones. Always strive to add one more decision on top of the next. Being healthy is a journey, not a destination. Keep your chin up! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

