Feel-good breakfast

Organic plain yoghurt with apple, brazil nuts, and mixed seeds

Good morning you all!

I hope you had a good weekend. I sure did. Well… I studied a lot in prevision of next term. I can’t exactly call that a party weekend but I’m always happy to learn new things, especially when it’s related to nutrition!

Anyway, this morning I just wanted to post a photo of my breakfast which, if I gave it a simple name could be called: “Yoghurt and fruit”, but it sounds a bit boring, doesn’t it? In all honesty it was yoghurt and fruit. But I made it a bit more interesting by adding some crushed brazil nuts and the seeds that I use on salads: pumpkin and sunflower seeds. A few slices of apple and it makes a colourful, crunchy, nutritious and delicious breakfast yoghurt recipe.

How often do you eat nuts? Walnuts, cashews, brazil nuts, pecan… Each have a particular health benefit. For example, did you know that walnuts and brazil nuts both contain the minerals calcium, magnesium, potassium and iron? The vitamins C, and B6? That they are a good source of protein as well as containing polyunsaturated and mono-unsaturated fat, which can help reduce the level of cholesterol in the blood and therefore reduce the risks of heart disease? All the minerals and vitamins listed, our body needs them. And there they are, all in one little tiny nut. Isn’t life beautiful? :-)

Look it up but most nuts and seeds are loaded in nutrients that our body needs to give us energy, protect us against free radicals, make us healthy, beautiful, and happy.

Have a nice week everyone! (and eat some nuts!) x

9 thoughts on “Feel-good breakfast

  1. ericam95

    This is very similar to what I have for breakfast, I love the texture of nuts and seeds, mixed in with yogurt! I usually add a few superfoods, such as bee pollen and chia seeds just to add to my breakfast mix. Great post :) x

    Reply
      1. Eating well in 2013 Post author

        I can’t access the link (maybe because I’m on my phone, will try again) but thanks for the info anyway, all these nutrients make it sound amazing indeed! Will have to buy some… :)

  2. Alysa

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say
    that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

