Energy Boost Blueberry Muffins

Image

Hello there! I hope you are all having a lovely Sunday. I baked today, and felt like I HAD TO share this! Back in March, I uploaded a recipe called Simple Coconut Flour Muffins. If you remember, it was my 1st ever attempt to cook without sugar and a gluten free and dairy free recipe. At the end I mentioned that they would have probably been better with blueberries or something to make them a bit more moist and maybe a bit sweeter. Well, I just baked them again with lots of blueberries and this is totally the answer! They are so good! I can’t believe they are sugar free and wheat flour free!

For the recipe, go to https://eatingwellin2013.wordpress.com/2013/03/26/my-1st-low-carb-and-low-sugar-sweet-treats/ and add about 300g of blueberries and the result will be amazing!

Now, about the calorie content. First of all, you need to know that these muffins are healthy because they have no refined sugar, I use Stevia (Canderel) which is a natural sweetener extracted from a plant that grows in South America. Instead of wheat flour, they have coconut flour, instead of butter, coconut oil, and lots of eggs. It makes them low in sugar and carbohydrates, high in protein and high in healthy fat. The fat from coconut oil is believed to help losing weight as it provides energy to be used by the body instead of being stored as fat. Coconut oil has so many healthy properties I can’t remember them all. It’s meant to be good for chronic fatigue, psoriasis and other skin disorders, to eliminate dandruffs, help with digestive problems, high blood pressure, migraines, diabetes, gum disease, weight loss… (see The Coconut Oil Miracle, by Bruce Fife, founder of the Coconut Research Center for more info on coconut).

Anyway, it tastes good and is healthy, that’s enough for me.

Back to calorie content now, I have roughly calculated that there is about 160 – 170 kcal per muffin. I think it’s higher than an what average muffin has but again, these are healthy calories. Calories that won’t make you feel stuffed and sleepy, that won’t make you put on weight (unless you eat all 12 at once!) and that will give you a lot of energy for the day ahead. So my advice is to eat 1 to 2 blueberry muffins for breakfast, or have one as a mid morning snack or before going to the gym or after exercising. You will feel great, trust me, because it taste like something we would normally feel guilty to eat but these muffins, they are good for you! You need them! So enjoy! And don’t hesitate to tell me what you think, share your recipe if you made them with a different fruit, etc.

Bon Appetit!

Image

Muffins ready to be baked

Leave a Reply

