Food Revolution Day, what will you be doing?

Hello my dear friends and followers who I feel I’ve let down lately. It’s been hectic here at Fitting-50-hours-in-24-hours headquarters! Exams, work, side projects… Poor abandoned blog. I must apologise.

A little while back I mentioned something about diet related diseases and how they have become near to the biggest killer of this century. This is why I am supporting Food Revolution Day, the day we will share our recipes and knowledge to keep cooking skills alive and promote healthy eating. It’s next Friday, May 17th, anyone can get involved, at home, by organising a cooking party with friends or neighbours; at school, teaching how to cook to children, showing how vegetables grow; in the park, organising a picnic with home made food only; at your local farmers market; where ever you feel enthusiastic about really. Hundreds of people have already registered their activity on the website here http://www.foodrevolutionday.com. It will be so big, the press will talk about us! Things are changing, and I want to be part of it.

How to get involved? Check out Jamie Oliver‘s special page (yes, him again) ‘Food Revolution Day’ http://www.foodrevolutionday.com to find ideas and download guides and posters to use as support for your event.

If you follow my blog, you must know by now about Jamie’s Food Revolution, but for the newcomers, here is a link to the Food Revolution website:

http://www.jamieoliver.com/us/foundation/jamies-food-revolution/news

Check out my posts called ‘Celebrity Chefs and Food Politics’ and ‘New Year’s Resolutions: February update’ to find out what Jamie Oliver does to make this world a better place. I don’t know how to link things (IT and me = not friends) but click here, it should work:

https://eatingwellin2013.wordpress.com/2013/03/19/celebrity-chefs-and-food-politics/

https://eatingwellin2013.wordpress.com/2013/03/01/new-years-resolutions-feb/

I haven’t uploaded my event on the interactive map yet because I am still in the stages of hoping it will happen but I’m currently waiting for a few emails to find out if it will come to life. I have teamed up with a friend from my course at uni to have a stand on our campus offering food tasting. As the university is organising a 10K race that day, it will be buzzing with students and staff so we are hoping to give samples of our healthy recipes to at least 70 people! Scary! We are making two salads, both easy to make, rather cheap and so tasty! We will show the ingredients we used and give leaflets with the recipes and their nutritional information to take home. I’m so looking forward to it! Fingers crossed!

What about you? What will you be doing?

Share the fun!

Cooking

Leave a Reply

