New Year’s resolutions: my tips to keep them up

Mixed salad - find it on the recipe page

Mixed salad – find it on the recipe page

Hey there!

If you are doubting your ability to keep up with your New Year’s resolutions, read my tips!

1. Going public! Writing a blog and telling people is a way to keep the pressure up. When other people know about your resolutions, it somehow makes you want to succeed more. Maybe it’s because you are setting a good example? I don’t know for sure. When I proudly write about how healthy I am and how happy that makes me, people start looking at me differently. I met up with a friend not long ago who told me they thought I was so healthy they looked up to me. I was shocked! I didn’t realise that writing about my healthy recipes made me appear like a health coach. I think my friend felt like they were not as good as me. I need to make things clear here, yes I post the healthy recipes I make on this blog, and I write about how happy I am to be healthier and to exercise, but it doesn’t mean in any way that it’s how I am every day of the week!! Some days I just have enough of the cold weather and working from home. I feel isolated or tired and that’s when chocolate and other comfort foods come into the picture. My eating habits are not perfect. I don’t spend my days cooking and singing in my kitchen a la Bree Van der Kamp! But knowing that I connect with other bloggers and that I have been read and watched through the Food Revolution website always reminds me of my resolutions. I want to be honest and true to people and to myself. Ultimately, I want to be healthy and feel well. I think, and I might be a little over excited by it, but I think I am inspiring other people who are also aiming to be healthier. Just the way they inspire me. It gives me wings and makes me want to carry on.

2. Be open to changes. Things don’t always go according to plan. Life brings ups and downs, so expect it, and don’t let it discourage you. You need to see the bigger picture! It’s not about being thinner next month, or running further next week. It’s about building a healthy routine with the long term in mind. If you look at the whole year, you can see your achievements better. You won’t become unfit just because you don’t exercise for two weeks. It’s the same for food.

3. Speaking of changes… I started running about a month after the resolutions. It just worked out well with eating well. I have now registered for a 10 km race. It encourages me to train and eat well in order to perform well on the day of the race. It’s almost as if the New Year’s resolutions have evolved throughout the year, and I’m okay with that. They might change again later in the year, I’m looking forward to see where it will take me.

4. The key word for me: ACHIEVABLE. Small achievable resolutions are more likely to be kept than big ones. Again, think in the long term. What matters to me is how healthy I will be for the next 20 years. This year, I eat less refined carbohydrates. By the end of the year, I should be used to this new lifestyle and find it just normal. Next year, I can focus on something else. It may take time but the aim is really to become healthier for good.

I see it like this:

One main goal = eating well and be healthy

Several small achievements will help reaching that goal. One at a time.

I hope my tips will help at least one person, please get in touch if you want to share your own experiences of keeping up your resolutions. Would love to hear them!

12 thoughts on “New Year’s resolutions: my tips to keep them up

  1. angie

    I’ve been thinking of making my goals more public, more than my own blog but showing my results with vlogging and the such. :) updates etc… :)

    Reply
  2. jfgirlie311

    One thing I always try to remember is that every new choice is another chance to make a better choice. There’s no “I blew it with that one might as well do whatever I want the rest of the day”. The other thing is to make goals that are measurable. I set daily, weekly, monthly and long term goals. Some about exercise, some about food, some about other health related things. And I try to be sure to write down one thing every day that I did well, so that I can keep focusing on the positive.

    Reply
      1. jfgirlie311

        It really helps you focus on the positive and keep moving forward. It also keeps you from feeling like a failure if you’ve had a bad day, but can still find a positive!

      2. Eating well in 2013 Post author

        We can be really hard on ourselves sometimes, it’s true we tend to focus on what we did wrong for some reason. I’m totally adopting your positive attitude! Thanks for the tip :)

      3. jfgirlie311

        Especially when you hit a plateau. You focus on what you HAVE to be doing wrong. Often it’s nothing you’re doing wrong, just your body.

  3. Alysa

    What’s up all, here every one is sharing such experience, therefore it’s
    pleasant to read this webpage, and I used to visit this blog everyday.

    Reply
  4. Tarah

    Hola! I’ve been reading your web site for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from New Caney Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the fantastic job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

