An alternative to mashed potatoes

MASHED CAULIFLOWER ! I discovered this great recipe in The South Beach Diet book if I remember well, a few years ago. It’s so simple. Instead of potatoes, use cauliflower.

DSC03561

Baked salmon fillet and mashed cauliflower

You may have noticed by now that I’m not very good with giving quantities in savoury recipes but I think you can play it by ear. Just start with a little bit (of butter, milk) and add more to suit your taste as you cook.

DSC03551DSC03552DSC03553

  1. I steamed a whole cauliflower.
  2. I then melted butter in a saucepan (about 1 tablespoon I’d say).
  3. Added the cauliflower to the saucepan and a dash of milk (two tablespoons) and mashed it.
  4. Stirred well and added salt, pepper, grated cheddar.
  5. And served :-)

Ingredients: cauliflower, butter, salt, pepper, grated cheddar.

Simples!

P.s: And as usual, I cooked the whole cauliflower in order to freeze some and now have some home-made frozen mashed cauliflower for another day :)

DSC03565

5 thoughts on “An alternative to mashed potatoes

  1. Martine

    Your post has come just at the right moment as for some reason I have 2 cauliflowers in my fridge. I am not a very organised food shopper! Anyway, mashed cauliflower to go with tomorrow’s dinner. Thanks. :)

    Reply
  2. yours truly

    Oh thank you for this post! I stopped having potatoes months ago and while I crave the home-y texture I can’t fathom the starch – this is a perfect idea and I love cauliflower!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

